In order to deliver net zero, action will be needed right across the UK, and we see a vital role for city-level initiatives. We support Bristol’s innovative governance approach and urgency, and we look forward to working with Bristol’s new Advisory Committee on Climate Change and counterparts across the UK to address the critical challenge of delivering net zero, and making the most of the opportunities ahead.

Lord Deben, Chair of the UK Committee on Climate Change

One City Environmental Sustainability Board

The Environmental Sustainability Board is leading on delivery of environmental sustainability aspects of the One City Plan, working closely with the five other boards covering the themes of economy, homes, health and wellbeing, learning and skills, transport and connectivity.

An open expressions of interest process led to the appointment of the Board’s first 18 members, see press release. Secretariat services are provided by Bristol Green Capital Partnership.

For a more detailed explanation of the new ways of working to tackle environmental sustainability in Bristol, see this blog by Ann Cousins, co-chair of the Environmental Sustainability Board.

A new Bristol Advisory Committee on Climate Change has also been established. This Committee will provide independent technical advice on achieving a carbon neutral city to all One City boards. More information on the Committee can be found here.

Terms of Reference: The Board’s terms of reference are here.

Enquiries: Any enquiries from interested businesses, organisations or individuals can contact the Board via the dedicated City Office email address Note that these will routinely be shared with Bristol Green Capital Partnership as secretariat.

Meetings: The Board held its first meeting on 10 July 2019 and intends to meet quarterly. Public observers are welcome: more information here.

Members and co-chairs: The current Board membership is as below. The Board’s co-chairs are the Mayor of Bristol, Marvin Rees, and Ann Cousins, Arup. Three further places on the Board have been reserved to improve the Board’s diversity, notably of BAME communities, people with disabilities and young people. A process for making appointments is under development.

Name Business or Organisation
Ann Cousins (co-chair) Arup
Marvin Rees (co-chair) Mayor of Bristol
Andrew Linfoot Jacobs
Andy Hicklin Environment Agency
Ben Ross Bristol Energy
Dale Southerton Cabot Institute, University of Bristol
Dan Green Wessex Water
Gwen Frost Bristol Waste Company
Iain McGuffog Bristol Water
Ian Barrett Avon Wildlife Trust
Jessica Ferrow Bristol Green Capital Partnership

(directors’ representative)

Katherine Piper Future Economy Network
Sara Telahoun Anthesis
Savita Willmott Natural History Consortium
Simon Roberts Centre for Sustainable Energy
Simon Wood North Bristol NHS Trust
Zoe Willcox Bristol City Council

Further information

Bristol’s One City Plan and links between the One City Plan and the UN Sustainable Development Goals

Bristol Green Capital Partnership

Bristol Green Capital Partnership, Our Future : a vision for an environmentally sustainable Bristol, January 2019 (the Partnership’s contribution to the first iteration of the One City Plan) and links between Our Future and the UN Sustainable Development Goals